top of page

The colony of Louisiana was transferred from Spain to France on November 30, 1803. Governor Manuel de Salcedo and the Marques de Casa Calvo, Spain’s representatives, officially transferred Louisiana to Prefect Pierre Clement de Laussat, France’s representative. Twenty days later, on December 20th, 1803, Prefect Pierre Clement de Laussat transferred the Colony of Louisiana to William C. C. Claiborne and General James Wilkinson, representatives of the United States selected by Thomas Jefferson. The Louisiana Purchase was signed in the Cabildo on December 20th, 1812 in the Sala Capitular.


    bottom of page